About the IEEE SA Standards Board

The Standards Board (SASB)

Established and appointed by the IEEE SA Board of Governors (BOG) the IEEE SA Standards Board encourages and coordinates the development and revision of IEEE standards. This includes approving the initiation of IEEE standards projects and to reviewing them for consensus, due process, openness, and balance.

The SASB gives final approval to IEEE standards prior to publication and processes all necessary appeals.

About SASB Members

The Board consists of no fewer than 18 or more than 26 voting members. They must be IEEE and IEEE SA members. In addition, an IEEE Technical Activities Board Liaison serves as a voting member.

There is one non-voting Member Emeritus.

Welcome SASB & Committee Members

2022 Standards Board

David Law Chair
Ted Burse Vice Chair
Gary Hoffman Past Chair
Konstantinos Karachalios Secretary, non-voting
Edward Addy, TAB Rep. Annette Reilly
Ramy Fathy Robby Robson
Travis Griffith Jon Rosdahl
Guido Hiertz Mark Siira
Yousef Kimiagar Dorothy Stanley
Thomas Koshy Lei Wang
John Kulick Keith Waters
Johnny Lin Karl Weber
Kevin Lu Sha Wei
Daleep Mohla Philip Winston
Andrew Myles Daidi Zhong
Damir Novosel
Member Emeritus
Joseph Koepfinger, non-voting
2022 Representatives
Ahmed Javed (primary);
Mohammad Aqeb Kohistani (alternate)
Afghanistan, Afghanistan Telecom Regulatory Authority (ATRA)
Abderrezak Henni (primary);
Laredj Zerrouki (alternate)
Algeria, Ministry of Post and Telecommunications (MPT)
Sergio Daniel D’uva (primary);
Guillermo Montenegro (alternate)
Argentina, National Communications Entity (ENACOM)
Allan Major (primary);
Dominic Byrne (alternate)
Australia, Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA)
Herbert Down (primary);
Edmund Kienast (alternate)
Australia, Australian Digital Health Agency (DigitalHealth)
Mohammad Salahuddin Bangladesh, Aspire to Innovate (a2i)
Kesang Phuntsho Namgay (primary);
Tek Bahadur Chhetri (alternate)
Bhutan, Bhutan Standards Bureau (BSB)
Tibinda Powdel (primary);
Ugyen Rinzin (alternate)
Bhutan, Department of Renewable Energy (DRE)
Nilo Pasquali (primary);
Vinicius Oliveira Caram (alternate)
Brazil, National Telecommunications Agency (Anatel)
José Gustavo Sampaio Gontijo Brazil, Ministry of Science, Technology, Innovation and Communication (MCTIC)
Lydia Mai Ouedraogo (primary);
Richard Anago (alternate)
Burkina Faso, Ministry of Digital Economy and Post Development (DEPD)
Gael Ingabire Burundi, Telecommunications Regulatory and Control Agency (ARCT)
Francis Olivier Cubahiro Burundi, Ministry of Communication, ICT, and Media (MINCOTIM)
Rodney Taylor (primary);
Nigel Cassimire (alternate)
Caribbean Telecommunications Union (CTU)
Ramy Ahmed Fathy Egypt, National Telecom Regulatory Authority (NTRA)
Nora Bellec France, Ministry for Europe and Foreign Affairs (MEAE)
Karl Weber Germany, Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action (BMWK)
Taras Holoyad (primary);
Markus Maas (alternate)
Germany, Federal Network Agency for Electricity, Gas, Telecommunications, Post and Railway (BNetzA)
Isaac Boateng (primary);
Roland Yaw Kudozia (alternate)
Ghana, National Communications Authority (NCA)
Anand Deshpande (primary);
Abhijit Mulay (alternate)
India, Automobile Research Association of India (ARAI)
Priti Bhatnagar India, Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS)
Hemant Darbari (primary);
Neelakantan Subramanian (alternate)
India, Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (C-DAC)
Rajkumar Upadhyay (primary);
Sandeep Agrawal (alternate)
India, Centre for Development of Telematics (C-DOT)
Ashok Rajput (primary);
Vandana Singhal (alternate)
India, Central Electricity Authority (CEA)
Sudhir Agarwal (primary);
S. B. R. Rao (alternate)
India, Power Grid Corporation of India Limited (POWERGRID)
Sudhir Bhandari (primary);
Premjit Lal (alternate)
India, Telecommunication Engineering Center (TEC)
Ehoud Peleg Israel, Ministry of Communications (MOC)
Igor Stepensky Israel, Public Utility Authority (PUA)
Yoshiaki Nagaya Japan, Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications (MIC)
Nelson Wasilwa (primary);
Joseph Onaya (alternate)
Kenya, Communications Authority of Kenya (CA)
Soo Jin Park Republic of Korea, Korean Agency for Technology and Standards (KATS)
Sungdong Min Republic of Korea, Ministry of Science and ICT (MSIT)
Guadalupe Gonzalez Panama, National Secretariat of Energy (SNE)
Nicolas Evers Paraguay, National Telecommunications Commission (CONATEL)
Wilmer Caról Azurza Neyra Peru, Ministry of Transport and Communications (MTC)
Agnieszka Chruszcz Poland, Ministry of Digital Affairs
Angelos Munezero Rwanda, Ministry of ICT & Innovation (MINICT)
Yvonne Umutoni Rwanda, Rwanda Utilities Regulatory Authority (RURA)
Mansour Al Qurashi Saudi Arabia, Communications and Information Technology Commission (CITC)
Achime Malick Ndiaye Republic of Senegal, Ministry of Digital Economy and Telecommunications
Sengmeng Koo Singapore, AI Singapore (AISG)
Bethuel Nkgadime South Africa, Independent Communications Authority of South Africa (ICASA)
Mwesigwa Felician (primary);
Beatrice Lema (alternate)
Tanzania, Communications Regulatory Authority (TCRA)
Afsin Buyukbas (primary);
Fazli Kaybal (alternate)
Turkey, Information and Communication Technologies Authority (ICTA)
Susan Nakanwagi (primary);
George Kasangaki (alternate)
Uganda, Uganda Communications Commission (UCC)
Simon Hicks (primary);
Jasper Pandza (alternate)
United Kingdom, Department for Digital, Culture, Media & Sport (DCMS)
Philip Mattson (primary);
Yonas Nebiyeloul-Kifle (alternate)
United States, Department of Homeland Security (DHS)
Jason Coder (primary);
Marla Dowell (alternate)
United States, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
Suzanne Radell United States, National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA)
Patricia Maluti Zambia, Zambia Information and Communications Technology Authority (ZICTA)
Dave Ringle

Sign up for our monthly newsletter to learn about new developments, including resources, insights and more.